Where to Find It?

 

Tulisan ini merupakan kontribusi oleh Michelle Walewangko

 

First question hanging on my head is ‘How am I supposed to find my better half?’ Well, it’s not only me. I have several friends (male and female) who are facing the similar problem.

I mean, where do nice people at my age hang out at? (I am below thirty but in my country, it is considered quite ‘old’ and we need to settle down very soon).

I met my previous boyfriends at schools and University.  I don’t date my colleagues at work and I am not actively involved in a certain social activity group or something like that.

I like the idea of the Professional Dating Services such as www.tablefortwojakarta.com but I’ve heard that unfortunately they already terminated their service. It’s a pity. I’ve never tried it before but my friend’s friend got lucky by joining the program and found her soul mate in the end. Table for Two organized selected professionals so they could meet each other. The result was worthy enough in spite of their pricey membership fee.

Many people (including me) are trapped into our daily routines. We go to the office from Monday – Friday, 09.00 to 05.00. We also have to consider the useless additional hours we spend daily inJakarta’s traffic jam.

As for the working graduate students like me, we have to go to the Campus in the evening and spend another 3 hours there, before coming back home feeling exhausted. (My record was arrived at home at 00.30 a.m. and had to wake up early in the morning ready for work again).

Thank God my hectic days were over. I have done all of my classes (I only have to concentrate on my unfinished thesis). At least I don’t have to be at the Campus every night and I can have more free time to relax and enjoy life (aka socialize).

I guess those were the factors of why we hang out with the same circle of mutual friends over the years.

My other friends were trying to find new people by joining the internet-based social network services. They were not quite satisfied with the result anyway. I think maybe because it needs more effort and a bunch of luck to trust the people you meet online.

My friends and I have tried the old fashioned way. I was succeeded being a Matchmaker. I introduced my former classmate (in one of the language course I took) to my colleague. My mission was accomplished. It turned out that they like (and hopefully love) each other. Hopefully this will be a good Karma for me either.

Do you have any good idea of how to meet new sincere people?

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Michelle is a foodie who is not fond of cooking. Her ideal job would be like Samantha Brown’s or Andrew Zimmern’s from TLC, to travel around the world, eat good food, and meet people; however on the weekdays she’s stuck at her cubicle from 9 to 5. She loves reading but doesn’t have enough confidence to write her own stories, or publish it. Psychology, Interior Design, Foreign Language and Culinary are her interests. Stay in touch with her at: Facebook: michelle.walewangko / Twitter: @mwalewangko / Tumblr: mwalewangko

Leave a Reply

